Images Index> Vernon Lamb Archive> Commercial> This page
The Vernon Lamb Archive, Commercial
A Unique Photographic Record of Matlock & District, 1910-1915, and World War One Soldiers

Previous Commercial Index Next

Place: Two Dales, Darley, Matlock
Property / Street / Road: [On Chesterfield Road today]
Date: 1910 - 1914
Description/Historical Information: Three men with dog outside Shoeing Smiths, the former smithy at the Blacksmiths Arms that was run by George Redfern at that time. In 1911 the Blacksmiths Arms itself was run by Mary Elizabeth Wragg, formerly Walker. Whilst it is not known for certain, the man on the left could be a member of the Walker family as they were long time publicans of the Blacksmiths Arms; its pub licence ended in 1968. Possibly one of the other two gentlemen was George Redfern - perhaps the one in the middle with the man on the right working as his assistant?
Knabb Quarry is in the background.
Further information
elsewhere on this site:
Image Reference: VLA5010
Copyright: © The Vernon Lamb Archive and Robert White.
See About the Archive and About Vernon Lamb, Photographer.